Resources Articles Events & Pujas SKyDancing Tantra Workshops & Classes About Michael Home

Back To Articles
The Chakras - Seven Energy Centers of the Body

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "vortex," and it refers to the seven energy centers in our bodies of which our consciousness, our energy system, is composed. These chakras, or energy centers, function as pumps or valves, regulating the flow of energy through our energy system.

The chakras are not physical. They are aspects of consciousness in the same way that the auras are aspects of consciousness. The chakras are more dense than the auras, but not as dense as the physical body. They interact with the physical body through two major vehicles, the endocrine system and the nervous system.

Each of the seven chakras is associated with one of the seven endocrine glands, and also with a group of nerves called a plexus. Thus, each chakra can be associated with particular parts of the body and particular functions within the body controlled by that plexus or that endocrine gland associated with that chakra. In addition the chakras also correlate to levels of consciousness, archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, colors, sounds, body functions, and much more.

Below is a brief description of the seven chakras located in the body:

Chakra/Location Color Endocrine Gland Ecstatic Quality
1) Root (perenium) Red Sexual Glands Abundance/Orgasm
Attributes: Connection to the earth. Foundation. Groundedness. Belonging. Being enough. Abundance. Birth, life, survival, aliveness. Sexuality, desire, pleasure.
2) Lower Belly Orange Adrenal Glands Balance/Flow
Attributes: Center of balance, movement, gravity. Equilibrium. Being centered. Vitality. Fluidity, flow. Healthy, strong, relaxed body. Abundant energy.
3) Solar Plexus Yellow Pancreas Power/Manifestation
Attributes: Personal power, charisma, self assurance. Self esteem. Courage. Will. Determination. Clear choices. Manifesting in the world. Cheerfulness, radiance. Expansion.
4) Heart (center) Green Thymus Love/Compassion
Attributes: Desire to merge, melt, surrender. Empathy, compassion. Generosity. Trust. Forgiveness. Passion to share love, joy, laughter. Playful child. Freshness, creativity.
5) Throat Blue Thyroid Truth/Creativity
Attributes: Truth, authentic self expression, communication. Assertion. Creative expression. Inspiration. Giving voice to the heart.
6) Third Eye Violet Pituitary Insight/Intution
Attributes: Global vision, clarity. Insight. Clear direction. Intuition, imagination, inner vision. Understanding directly without reason or logic.
7) Crown White Pineal Connection/Transcendence
Attributes: Bridge between matter & spirit. Spaciousness, illumination, awakening, transcendence. Contentment, harmony, equanimity, neutrality. Realms of the soul - peace, silence, wonder.

The Art of Ecstatic Love
Michael Pooley, Certified SkyDancing Tantra Teacher®
P.O. Box 66307, Scotts Valley, CA 95067-6307
Phone: (408) 309-0962 | Email:

Home | About | Workshops/Classes | Events | SkyDancing Tantra | Articles | Resources

©2002-2006. The Art of Ecstatic Love. All Rights Reserved. | Phone: (831) 457-6535. Email:
Artwork courtesy of Paul Heussenstamm, Photography by Scott Evans/Emily Bryant